Owie zowie. This is not even book related.

Oh man.  I seem to be doing a lot of these posts lately.  My characters are getting upset because none of my recent blog updates have been about them. (Sorry, guys. Truly.)

Anyway, this is just information I want to pass along because you never know when it’s going to come in handy.

For the last 4 days or so, I have been suffering from the worst form of pain I’ve ever experienced in my life.  The dreaded toothache.  How bad has it been? Oh, let me count the ways…

^This has basically been me since the pain started, and it’s been very hard to find relief.

“Why don’t you call the dentist?”   Oh, I have.  I’ve called every dentist in my town and they’re all booked until the 24th or later.  Everyone is BUSY.  They cannot understand that I am miserable and in agony.  Seriously…this is disgusting.  If you’ve dealt with a toothache before, you know exactly where I’m coming from on this.  It. Is. Pure. Hell.

However, I have found some things that help.  Significantly.  Now, most of the effects don’t last very long.  I get an hour of relief tops, but there is that certain miraculous moment when it kicks in for longer and I can actually sleep.  (Sleep, I miss you.  I miss you so much.)

1. Anbesol aka Heaven in a bottle. 

It numbs it pretty good for 30 minutes to an hour.

2. Sensodyne aka The Tingling Goodness 

Apply some Sensodyne toothpaste directly to the effected area.  It’s going to sting, burn, and tingle you into an hour of peace…if not longer.  For me, it lasts about an hour to an hour and a half-and it is wonderful.

3. Clove Oil aka Angel of Mercy

Now, with my experience…Clove Oil can kill the nerve in a tooth fairly quickly-if the nerve is exposed.  I can definitely tell you that works.  But what happens when the nerve isn’t exposed?  It’ll still numb it up fairly well..but BE CAREFUL.  Do not get it on your lips or gums because it’s going to BURN.  Oh, and also…sadly from experience…don’t rub your eye if you got any on your finger.  My lord, please don’t ever, ever, ever, ever do that.  Trust. Me.

These are the three remedies that have made the pain tolerable for me.  I’m going to call a million more dentists tomorrow to see if anyone will take pity.  Maybe. We’ll keep our fingers crossed.  But if you ever have to deal with a toothache and tylenol isn’t helping…try one of the 3 above.  They have definitely helped me.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Good luck, tooth ache can be the worst!

  2. I do hope your toothache is better now. Just stopping by to say thank you for taking the time to comment on my blog. ❤

    ~Decadent

Leave a Reply

