I’m still alive. I swear.

Well hello, gorgeous.  It’s been a while, hasn’t it?

I apologize for my absence on my blog.  I always promise myself I’ll make daily posts, or at least weekly posts if I can help it.  Unfortunately, what I have learned in  my 28 years of existing on this planet, is that sometimes things don’t work out as I want them to.  Blah dee har.

The good news is, my first ever M/M romance novel is complete.  I’m actually REALLY excited about that.  I started Chartreuse back in 2011 for NaNoWriMo and about 30k in, I just dropped it.  Why? Well, there were a lot of reasons.  First off, I’m not a man….and I guess I sort of felt I had no right to write about two falling in love.  But you know…after a lot of thinking, that’s just what writers do.  I’ve had this argument before, but I’m willing to say it again.  Anne Rice has one of the most awesome men..erm..well, he is a guy, living in her head, so why not?

The other reason is simply because I live in a bible belt and I was terrified of what people would say/think.  Well, you know what?  I no longer care.  The rights of every human being in the world means a lot to me.  Don’t think that I am not fighting for marriage equality-because I am.  I believe everyone should have the freedom to love who they want to, and this book means a great deal to me.

Chartreuse is centered around the lives of two men from two very different worlds.  Rowan Kelly is from Boston (dreaaaamy siiiigh), and Kasen Reed is from a tiny town called Chartreuse. (That’s in Alabama, ya’ll.)  In a way, I believe Chartreuse is modeled after my own hometown, and yes, I do include the narrow-minded ignorance I’ve witnessed every time I dare to leave my house.  (I’m not that reclusive, I swear! Okay…yes, I am.)  Kasen and Rowan will quickly develop feelings for one another, and you’ll get to join them on their journey as they come face to face with hate, anger, and violence.

I guess in a way, I really want to see this book fall into the hands of a young man or woman struggling with their sexuality.  It’s aimed towards 18-20 somethings, but I hope everyone will give it a chance.  Even if you’re in your 50’s and you’re still terrified to be YOU, I do wish that if you got a copy of this book and read it, you will find hope and courage.  That’s my goal.

I know, right?  Usually my books don’t have a significant meaning…but this one does.  And it’s something that means a lot to me.  I don’t want anyone to be afraid to be themselves, and if Chartreuse can shed a little light on a dark situation, then I have done my job as a writer.

Oh sweet Sassafrass, I am rambling.  I really just wanted to let you all know I’m still alive, and I honestly meant to write about something else but ta-da. #Blamethebrain.  It’s what I do.

Have a wonderful, wonderful, amazing night. xx

Facebook page

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Congrats on finishing! No wonder you’ve been away from the blog, you have a good excuse 😀

Leave a Reply

