The little author who could.

Tonight is a night of celebration for me.  Why?  Well, it’s quite simple.  I just went to snoop my amazon sales report and discovered I’ve finally reached the threshold to receive my first royalty payment!  This is a big deal for me, okay? 3 years in the making.

THREE YEARS.  SAY WHAT.

I know, I know!  It took 3 years to meet their $100 threshold, but it’s finally happened and I am beyond thrilled.  Maybe I’ll go get a steak.

No-I won’t.  I don’t like steak. >.<

Anyway, so I just wanted to take a moment to giggle and bounce up and down and all those shenanigans.

And on a serious note, being an indie author is NOT easy.  To every man and woman out there who decides to go on this journey, my hat is off to you.  It isn’t easy to write the story, find the editor, find the book cover, publish the book, promote the book, and EVERYTHING ELSE we must do on our OWN.  We are lone wolves in this industry, but we work hard and we love what we do, right?  Right.

So in the three years building up to this momentous occasion, I’d just like to do a brief flashback.

November 2011

Amazon KDP discovered.  I decide to publish my first book.

People are going to read my books! They will LOVE me!

March 2012

3 books sold since November.  What am I doing wrong?  NOBODY LOVES ME.

May 2012

No bother. I’ll keep writing my books!

July 2012

October 2012

December 2012

January 2013

-makes a facebook author page-

And then something happened in between November and December of 2013

People started noticing me. They started sharing my page.  I started venturing further out into the internet world and doing author takeovers.  I got my first radio interview….and suddenly…

I hit 1,000 likes on my fan page.

So now…..in 2014, I have nearly 2,000 fans and I’ve finally sold enough books to get that first beautiful check.

What is the point of this post, you ask?

Keep working hard for it.  Keep going no matter what.  Don’t give up on your dreams.  Sometimes it takes a while to climb up that ladder, especially when no one really knows your name.  I did an author takeover on a page 2 days ago and a lady said, “I’m so glad you’re here.  I’ve never heard of you, but your stories sound amazing!”  BAM. New reader.

That’s all it is, really.  We don’t get the publicity we truly deserve, but with the help of fellow indies and kind readers who don’t mind to share links with their friends…you guys, we can make it!

I am truly on cloud 9 right now.  I never dreamed this day would come.

Thank you all so, so much.

Now, back to writing. 😉

Facebook Page

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Reblogged this on hypeNhoopla and commented:
    I am like a proud big sister with this gal. I have been following her for a while, watched her grow as a writer. Her confidence knows no bounds anymore! I feel blessed to have been witness to a portion the path she has traveled so far. 🙂

  2. You ARE so deserving! I feel so blessed to have been among your earliest fans. I knew I had found a young, but amazing talent when I read that first book. You are young, learning constantly, and your confidence has bloomed by leaps and bounds! Tonya, you are a woman with a grand heart, wonderful humor, and many talents. I KNOW that you have only just begun to show your abilities. You are the hidden gem, finally cleaned with the cuts only partly started. So just imagine what we will see when the polish happens. 🙂

  3. This is great news 😀 Congrats! Perseverance wins in the end!

  4. Tonya, sometimes in the battle for the recognition you so deserve, you find many friends who wish, no, need to walk that walk with you so that you can become more than a just name to others. I am personally so glad that you never gave up. I remember the likes you had on your page when I first found you. I am astonished how that number has more than doubled. You ARE more than just a name, a number on Facebook to many of us. You have a way of touching us, molding yourself around us through your stories you give to us, your personality while trying to be normal, and your humor for life which makes you extraordinary. You have branded yourself into my heart forever. I love you sweetie. So proud of you. Thankful you are in my life. I needed you there, as so many others do as well.

    Facebook is almost as amazing as you are.

Leave a Reply

