It’s me again, Margaret.

Oh gosh. Not ANOTHER blog post from that crazy girl.

…Come on.  You know you missed me.

For the past few days, I have been working on some new projects and old projects alike.  I have A LOT of ideas in my head, but what author doesn’t?  I wish I could just blink and make them complete, but that’s not how it works. :p Where’s the fun in that?

The writing process is full of happiness, suspense, sweat, tears, aggravation, pride, and a million other things I just can’t list here.  It would take too long.

Blah dee blah-Tonya, what’s your point?!

Do my posts ever have a point? Not really.

Anywho….

So I have all these glorious ideas in  my head and I don’t know how to get them out on paper just yet.  It will happen….you know what they say, “Rome wasn’t built in a day.”  That very much goes for writing and anything else in life as well.

I had someone ask me the other day how I manage to get so many stories done so quickly…and while I don’t view it as quick, I have realized that it takes some of my fellow writers a year or longer to complete a manuscript.  That’s okay. It can take you a lifetime so long as you write the story your way and you’re happy with it. ❤

But this particular writer asked me how I do it.  My answer?

NaNoWriMo.

As you all know (or maybe you don’t), NaNoWriMo begins in November and lasts for 30 glorious days.  In this time frame, you are encouraged to write a 50,000 word novel.

BUT THAT IS INSANE.  WHO DOES THAT?

You would be amazed how many people actually do.  November is a month of utter madness for me, and has been for the last 5 years or so.  Not only is this wonderful month a time of novel writing for people all over the world, but it also kicks off Random Acts of Christmas AND the best day ever aka my birthday.  November is a month that will undoubtedly drive me insane in the future.

Anyway, I LOVE NaNoWriMo.  It helped me complete my first manuscript.  Never in my life had I written ‘THE END’ until the first time I participated.  Since then, I find it quite easy to complete a story and I’m thankful for NaNoWriMo.  They taught me something extremely valuable.

Write. Write. Write.  Just write.  You can edit later.

Now, I understand that many writers need to write a sentence and then go back and edit it.  That’s all fine and dandy-my hat is off to you, truly….but the trick I’ve learned is just to keep writing, whether it’s one chapter or an entire book before backtracking to perfect it.

That’s how I get so many stories finished.  I don’t let myself sweat the small things until the biggest thing is done.

That’s my trick.  There you have it.

Seriously, Tonya? That’s the post?

Hey…I never said I had insightful stuff to say here.  I just blab a lot and some people like it.

I really have been working on many different stories.  Some are top secret-others are works that deserved to be published months ago.  I’m trying to pace myself here.

Guarding Abigail releases on May 24th.  Hottie Guardian Angels.  Need I say more?

Chartreuse is currently on its blog tour and all proceeds made from purchases during the duration of the tour are being donated to The Ronald McDonald House and Trevor Project.  So far, we’ve raised over $100.  You guys are seriously AWESOME.

Ummmmm…The Siege of Kadenburg (The Kadenburg Shifters Series, book 3) will be releasing next month.  I haven’t chosen a date yet so stay tuned.  Just know this; You get to continue the adventure with all your favorite shifters, and yes, the series is getting steamier along the way.  You’ve been warned.

Book 3 of the Descendants Series, The Ice King’s Heart, will hopefully be nearing completion in time for a July release.

Blood Resurrection (Blood Betrayal Series, book 3) is still in the early stages.  Like, seriously…I’ve wrote 2,000 words.  My vampires are bloody stubborn (pun intended).  They work at their pace, not mine.

There is another super awesome project I’ve started (Gosh, I know. I can’t seem to stop), but I can’t tell you about it just yet.  However, I’m super excited and I think the fans of Kadenburg will be, too!

I think I’m done rambling now…but I do want to post the purchase link for Chartreuse in case anybody wants to snag it up during the tour.  Remember, this is a heart-warming story filled with a strong positive message of love, acceptance, and courage.  I wish more people could discover it.

You can always find me over on Facebook. I post random, pointless things all the time.

Be kind to one another. I’ve noticed too much hostility in the author community as of late.  We should be supporting one another, not undermining someone who may be a smidge bit more successful.  It makes my heart sad to see it happening.  Just follow the golden rule. xx

Leave a Reply

