Ridener Musings: We don’t have to be a remake of Mean Girls.

Ah yes. Hello again there, young grasshopper.  Tis I, that quirky lady who has too many thoughts and always feels the need to express what I’m feeling through the typed word.

I’m taking a break from watching Sharknado (yes, I’m actually watching that), and I decided that my mind has been reeling too much lately and I need to make a blog post.  If we can’t write what we’re feeling on our blogs then where can we write?

Being the ever observant wallflower that I am, I have watched events unfold in the indie community for the last half year.  Most of it makes me very sad.  I myself have dealt with a few issues and I’m not throwing pearls of wisdom out there as a person who just wants to help.  I have experienced it before and I dealt with it shortly ago.

Is the indie world not big enough for all of us?  Why do authors feel the need to attack other authors when we’re all striving for the same thing here?  Weren’t you once that kid with a pen and notebook and this huge dream of being a famous author one day?  Weren’t you the kid in high school who preferred staying in on a Friday night with a book rather than going to the football game?  Weren’t you the kid who asked for notebooks and pencils for your birthday?  I was.

I get it.  I really do.  Some people only view writing as a ‘hobby’, or something ‘to do’, but there are those of us who treat this as our profession and it’s a career we are proud of.  It’s not always an easy road.  We have all struggled to get where we are today and we’ll keep struggling, but that struggle doesn’t have to be so difficult when there are so many authors, readers, and bloggers willing to share things for us.

Do you really want new indies to come into our community and see it in the shape it’s in?  Do you want to scare them off with all the drama that seems to escalate on a daily basis?

I’m sad.  That’s all there is to it.  I am sad and my heart hurts for what I see happening in the indie world these days.  This is supposed to be the one place in the entirety of the world where we can find support and cheer each other on.  It’s all I’ve ever tried to do for everyone and well….I learned the hard way that you can’t trust everyone.  You can’t let your guard down and allow people to enter your life without knowing there is a risk they will do something to hurt you.

That is life, folks.  I understand it….but the bullying…..that has got to stop.

Is it necessary to call someone names?  Is it really necessary to hurt them intentionally?  Spread rumors about them?  There are a lot of indie authors who are finding huge success right now and I am SO happy for them.  I can’t tell you how elated I become knowing that one of ‘us’ made it to the big leagues.  We should all be overjoyed when that happens and know it is only a matter of time until we’re next.  You have to hang on to that hope.

But there’s something else I want you to remember too.

We write because it’s what we love.  For some of us, we eat, sleep, and breathe writing.  It’s all we know.  It’s our passion.  Don’t forget that.

I never got into it for money or fame.  I just wanted to create magical worlds for other people to get lost in as so many authors have done for me my entire life.  If it happens it happens.  If it doesn’t, well, heck, it’s been a great adventure!

Don’t belittle others.  Don’t be cruel to them just because you’re upset they have something you don’t.  Indie authors, most of them, are so incredibly nice and will do whatever they can to help you reach the next milestone.  There is no reason that we should be fighting one another or trying to tear each other down.

I have been called a bully in the past and that baffles me.  Sometimes you’re guilty by association and that straight up sucks.  I’m nice to everyone and I try to treat everyone with the same amount of courtesy and respect that I would give to my grandparents or people in my town.

I just don’t get it.  I’m stumped.  I can’t for the life of me figure out why the indie author community has turned into a remake of Mean Girls.

Don’t be a plastic. Please.

Leave a Reply

