Interview with the Indie Writer #1: Chip Davis

Today I have the pleasure of posting my 1st author interview in a long time and it’s happening with Chip Davis!

Chip is 52 years young and lives in Florida.   He is the author of Trail of the Raven, Haiti which you can check out HERE.

Describe yourself in three sentences.

People often accuse me of being sweet and kind, a big old teddy bear. I grumble and grouse when they mention it, but secretly I wouldn’t want them to think anything different of me. I will deny saying this.

For you, what is the hardest part about writing in your genre?

 The hardest part of writing in my genre is finding the damn genre to fit into. (ok, those were Tonya’s words but they work for me.)

What is your favorite pass time when you’re not writing?

I started learning about photography for my book research trips. Now I am a photography nut.

Is writing something you consider a great passion or is it just a hobby?

The things I write about are a passion. Making a reader feel an emotion through my words is an obsession. The actual writing is a love/hate thing, it depends on how words are flowing.

In your opinion, what is the best way to promote your work?

For me, the best promotion is word of mouth. If someone reads a book based on a recommendation by a friend they go into it wanting to like it. It helps if that mouth is a nice blog, or other mass media device.

Are you an independent author or are you traditionally published?

I consider myself neither. I published through a print on demand publisher. I paid a reasonable price for services (editing, promotion, etc.), and they share in the profits. They fall somewhere in between, much like my book!

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

Everyone will say, just write. My best advice is make friends with other writers, with readers, and with a rich matron/patron. These people will encourage you, grow with you, and follow you forever, (well all but the matron, still looking…).

How do you feel about your family and close friends reading your work?

I beg for it shamelessly throughout the process. I crave the feedback.

How do you overcome writer’s block?

I walk on the beach; listen to the waves and the voices in my head as they argue about their part in the book.

Do you get easily attached to your characters?

I love my characters; they are among my best friends ever. I do not differentiate between them and real friends. So yeah, very much so.

Do you base your characters on people you know?

Some of them are based on real people, some have the general traits of one or more people, others are completely formed in my mind.

What inspired you to write your first book?

I had an idea for a series kicking around in my head for years. When the earthquake hit Haiti, it jarred that idea into action, very slow, halting, action.

At what age did you finally say to yourself, “This is it. I want to be a writer.”

I woke up before dawn one morning, took a walk under autumn leaves in northern Maine, ran home and wrote the most beautiful poem. I then went to kindergarten and lost it somewhere, but the idea of beauty in those words has stayed with me to this day.

How long does it typically take for you to finish writing a book?

The first one took four years off and on! Now that it is finally out I need to pick up production a bit. I want to write in real time, and am four years behind. I think I could write two books a year if work cooperated, (I am self-employed). My stories take place in foreign countries and I have to go to research, it takes time.

If you had to put the main protagonist of your book against Lord Voldemort, who would win?

Voldemort would kill little Jack easily, but Jack would have changed the lives of those he came in contact with. I would like to think Jack’s legacy wins.

Do you prefer to write in a notebook or type on a computer?

I only write in notebooks when I am traveling. I prefer to type.

How many flash drives do you own?

No clue, 5? 6? I also have a couple external hard drives.

What is something you MUST have to keep your writing mojo strong?

Coffee! I need coffee to do the words putting together in sentences thing.

If you could bring one of your characters to life, who would it be and why?

It would have to be Jack. He is me, I am him, we want to live!

Do you have a dream cast for your novels?

I can honestly say I haven’t considered it, my characters are real in my head and look like themselves.

Can you tell us about what you’re currently working on or any future works you have planned?

I just published Trail of the Raven, Haiti. I am working on Trail of the Raven, Brazil now (series, remember?). I have another book that is demanding to be written, based on a character in the Haiti book. It will be a biography/history novel, The Book of Georges, 70 years of Haitian history seen through the eyes of one remarkable man.

THANK YOU SO MUCH to Chip Davis for being my first interview in well over a year.  Please be sure to check him out on FACEBOOK, AMAZON, and his WEBSITE

Leave a Reply

