Interview with the Indie Writer #2: Jas T. Ward

Today’s interview is with Jas T. Ward.  She is 40-ish and lives in Southeast Texas.  She is the author of LOVE’S BITTER HARVEST.

jastward

 

Describe yourself in three sentences.

I’m very stubborn but loyal, like a big human labrador.

I write to breathe and keep the darkness at bay, I have no choice.

Love is something I believe in, but not for me, I’ve done too much damage to it. 

For you, what is the hardest part about writing in your genre? 

I write in several genres. But to me the greatest challenge is writing in ANY genre and make it seem realistic and believable.

What is your favorite pass time when you’re not writing?

There’s free time? 🙂 Movies, I’m a huge movie person. 

Is writing something you consider a great passion or is it just a hobby?

Great passion. It’s my therapy for my mental health (I suffer from severe depression and PTSD.)

 In your opinion, what is the best way to promote your work?

Get the word out. Friends, family, anyone that will listen. But make sure the work is worth their time. If it is? It’ll grow. 

Are you an independent author or are you traditionally published?

Traditionally published with Dead Bound Publishing 

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

Write. Don’t worry about how good it is. Just write. Don’t worry about making it perfect. Just write. Finish it and make it perfect after you have the victory of “THE END”. 

How do you feel about your family and close friends reading your work?

Love it. My dad, who is chronically ill and home bound, is a huge reader. He spends all the time he can reading. I saw him reading my book and it created tears, especially when he said it was like a real author had written it. You’d have to know my dad to know how amazing that was to hear. 

lovely

How do you overcome writer’s block?

I had a HUGE one after my love committed suicide. Believe it or not, writing fan fiction online helped make it disappear. I haven’t had it since. I keep it at bay now by working on several projects at a time. Hit a pause on one? Fine, move to the other ones. 

Do you get easily attached to your characters?

YES! I love them all. And when I have to cause them  heartache or pain, I feel guilt and tell them “I’m sorry, but I’ll make it worth it.” 

Do you base your characters on people you know?

In Love’s Bitter Harvest – the main characters were indeed inspired by real people. And some of the side characters are actual real people as are the places the book took place. 

What inspired you to write your first book?

Fans. They encouraged me to put together my short-stories and poems they had enjoyed reading over the years and said they would buy it. I honestly didn’t think they meant it. They did. That little book – Bits and Pieces: Tales and Sonnets did it for me. And I am so grateful for their encouragement. And always will be.

 At what age did you finally say to yourself, “This is it.  I want to be a writer.”

At 10. No seriously, I thought — I want to create worlds I can escape to.  I  want to make heroes that will save little kids like me from bad things. 

How long does it typically take for you to finish writing a book?

Sometimes as short as two months, but some years. All depends on the  book and the story the characters have to tell.

If you had to put the main protagonist of your book against Lord Voldemort, who would win?

Oh Please!! Reno Sundown would so win that battle. 

Do you prefer to write in a notebook or type on a computer?
I do my outlines and notes in a journal. The book itself I write on a PC. 

How many flash drives do you own?

Ten. And a cloud drive. A google doc storage…and..and 

What is something you MUST have to keep your writing mojo strong?

Music. Doesn’t matter which kind. Whatever suits the mood of the book I am working on at the time. 

If you could bring one of your characters to life, who would it be and why?

Hands down– Reno Sundown. I would then take him around to all the people who gave him life and love him so. 

Do you have a dream cast for your novels?

The only character myself and the fans have even discussed is Reno (can you tell I love him so?). And that actor would be Bradley Cooper. I’ve even changed the model at times on social media and the fans revolted.  I do see Matt McCall from Love’s Bitter Harvest as Luke Bryant however. 🙂 

Can you tell us about what you’re currently working on or any future works you have planned? 

I have three that I am working on. The latest that is going to drop within the next few weeks is a novella that goes along with my Shadow-Keepers series. It’s the story of the main god in the series- BOUNCE. He’s very interesting and the fans have been wondering who and what he is for some time, as he has no memory of his past or who he is—nor where he came from. That is revealed in his novella, so I’m quite excited about it, as are they. 

The books that are coming after that are: 

Soul Bound- Warrior. Which is a book that was picked up for publishing years ago but the publisher and my agent at the time wanted it “toned” down and not so dark. I refused and therefore no contract was signed and the deal was lost. I’m very happy to be releasing it as it was meant to be with Dead Bound Publishing. I hope the fans will be too. It deals with lost love, suicide, manic depression and being haunted as trying to find love again. 

After that is the first in my Light and Dark Series: Light. This is my angels and demons series where whole new worlds are created with fantastic creatures as well as hierarchy of Heaven, Hell and Earth and the politics that controls it all. It’s been called “A Harry Potter for adults”. 

After that, the second book in my Shadow-Keepers Series – LUST releases in December and I can’t wait for fans to see where Reno’s story, which ended in MADNESS picks back up. That book comes out in December. 

And finally, I may be working on an anthology with DBP which is always exciting. I love doing short-stories.

It sounds like you’re going to be pretty busy, Jas.  Thank you SO MUCH for being my 2nd interview. ❤  I wish you the best.

You can find Jas on AMAZON, FACEBOOK, and her BLOG.

 

 

Leave a Reply

