Interview with the Indie Writer #3: HA Fortman

Today we are joined by HA Fortman!  She is 38 years old and lives in Michigan. 

ha

 

What is your favorite pass time when you’re not writing?

Reading. Wood burning. Spending time with my family and friends.

Is writing something you consider a great passion or is it just a hobby?

It’s a long time dream that’s finally being fulfilled. 

In your opinion, what is the best way to promote your work?

Word of mouth. Giving out ARC’s and having their friends spread the word. Attending Facebook parties where I can promote it with giveaways. 

Are you an independent author or are you traditionally published?

Independent. 

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

Don’t hold back. Chase your dream because you never know what’ll happen! 

How do you feel about your family and close friends reading your work?

They’re the first ones to read it. 

How do you overcome writer’s block?

Work on something else or read. Take a bath. Don’t EVER force yourself to write because then it just becomes crap.

 Do you get easily attached to your characters?

Man do I ever!

Do you base your characters on people you know?

Sometimes. Rex, in book 2, is based loosely off of an old friend and mix of my dad.

What inspired you to write your first book?

When I was in college I had to write a report on a serial killer. While driving home from a book convention I had this wild idea to make it into a fiction book.

At what age did you finally say to yourself, “This is it.  I want to be a writer.”

I was in the 6th grade. Again when I was in high school I was writing a book but decided to throw it away instead of trying to take it somewhere.

How long does it typically take for you to finish writing a book?

I finished book 1 in less than a month. Book 2 is already taking a bit longer to write because the character’s won’t cooperate!

If you had to put the main protagonist of your book against Lord Voldemort, who would win?

That’s difficult to say. Mestrock has technology but Voldemort has magic… I think it would be a best 2 out of 3 lol 

Do you prefer to write in a notebook or type on a computer?

Both. I’ve even been known to email myself ideas through my iPhone! 

How many flash drives do you own?

Off the top of my head? 3 or 4? Not sure if they work though!

What is something you MUST have to keep your writing mojo strong?

COFFEE!!! 

If you could bring one of your characters to life, who would it be and why?

I want Yannick, he’s so cute and endearing! Plus… those 4 hands would make for an AWESOME massage!

Can you tell us about what you’re currently working on or any future works you have planned?

I’m working on book 2. It’s Tracker’s story and so far it has me nearly in tears! Poor Tracker has just woken up and is trying to escape out of his crashed shuttle, his “dog” is trapped in the back!

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR JOINING US, HA FORTMAN!

To learn more about HA and her books, you can visit her on FACEBOOK, HER BLOG, TWITTER, and AMAZON.  

You can purchase CHASING CONSTELLATIONS at AMAZONB&NSMASHWORDSSCRIBEInktera, and ARe.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Thank you so much for having me! ❤

Leave a Reply

