Interview with the Indie Writer #5: Sam Destiny

Today we are joined by Sam Destiny.  She is ‘everlasting’ 25 and she lives in Germany!

Describe yourself in three sentences.

I am a person who loves to dive head first into other worlds, lives, and adventures. I’ve been writing since I am old enough to be jealous of the guys others could have in their heads. I would say I’m an airhead, but that’s more meant as my thoughts basically never being where they are supposed to be.

 For you, what is the hardest part about writing in your genre? (new worlds, new concepts, futuristic ideas?)

I guess I’d say it’s creating a new race; coming up with new terms, new traits and, hardest of all, not falling in love with all of my boys at once!

 

What is your favorite pass time when you’re not writing?

 I love to read. My aunt keeps telling everyone who asks about my reading habits that I’ll probably be in the delivery room one day and the doctor will tell me to push, to which I’ll most likely reply: “After this page, doc!” It’s her favorite new joke and people seem to think it might actually come true. Come on, I read a lot, but… Okay, I might just take a book with me in case…

Is writing something you consider a great passion or is it just a hobby?

Definitely a great passion. I’ve been writing smaller or bigger stories since eighth grade, I think. It started out with little things for a friend’s birthday and really got big when my bestie and me started spending weekends writing our little stories. They fill binder after binder and it’s crazy-beautiful re-reading them time and time again.

 In your opinion, what is the best way to promote your work?

 I think that the best way to promote any book is through the people that read and loved them. Who is more convincing than a person who had his or her heart broken in a good way by words you wrote? Of course,  Facebook works, too! *smirks*

Are you an independent author or are you traditionally published?

Independent.

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

Find support. One person at least who truly thinks you can do it. And then start believing it yourself.

How do you feel about your family and close friends reading your work?

Torn, actually. I am not even sure I want half of them to know. Since I am writing in a language not native to most of them though, I might get lucky and will never have to explain to them why seven guys live in my head. * grins *

How do you overcome writer’s block?

A book, chocolate, a lot of cursing and then a lot of coaxing and sweet-talking.

Do you get easily attached to your characters?

Hell yeah. I still put them through their personal nightmares though.

Do you base your characters on people you know?

Cany, a character all of you will meet at the end of book one, is based on my best friend. Cany is loyal, sweet, beautiful in her own way and the Morning Star race can be glad to have her. I don’t wanna say too much, but some people just are so great in real life that they deserve a spot in the fictional world.

What inspired you to write your first book?

Jealousy. Hahaha, that sounds kinda wrong, but it’s partly true. Every author has so many awesome book boyfriends that just belong to them. I wanted that, too. I wanted my very own boys. And now I have them. As well, again, my best friend Yvi did a lot to help that along because she always enjoyed my work a whole lot. I like knowing I can make someone besides myself smile with the worlds I create.

At what age did you finally say to yourself, “This is it.  I want to be a writer.”

I wanted to be a writer for a long time. Unfortunately I had a mother who liked to remind me that I wouldn’t be able to make it out in the world because, let’s face it, there are much better writers out there. At least that’s what she would tell me. So now, at * cough * 25 I had some pretty amazing contacts with a certain great author, who, along a few of my friends, just said throw it out there. So my new motto is: You don’t know if you can fly if you never spread your wings.

How long does it typically take for you to finish writing a book?

I will tell you once it’s done! * blushes *

If you had to put the main protagonist of your book against Lord Voldemort, who would win?

Jaden thinks it’s him. Of course it’s him, he’s handsome, badass and a jerk (don’t tell him I said the last part, he wouldn’t agree.)  It’s either Jaden or no one, I think.

 Do you prefer to write in a notebook or type on a computer?

 I realized that actually maybe a mix of both is the thing for me. I am currently doing Set in Flames in a notebook and even though I like that a lot, I am wondering if maybe I had a little more flow if I was typing most of it. But then again, sometimes scenes just come to you when it’s not their time, so yeah, both probably will be it next time. Especially since it’s a lot easier to carry a notebook than a laptop.

 How many flash drives do you own?

 Let me check… Two so far? I mean, since I didn’t type that much of my story yet, I still trust my Macbook… And since I have all of the story written down in a notebook, I am safe for now.

 What is something you MUST have to keep your writing mojo strong?

 Love for the character and, in between, a happy sigh from someone. That means I’ll most likely share a sentence or two to tease and I like knowing I’m on the right track.

If you could bring one of your characters to life, who would it be and why?

I should say now all of my guys, but if I’d really have to choose, I’d say Red. He’s a good guy, one that proves every day that being good is a choice. You don’t have to be bad just because people tell you you were born to be the villain.

Do you have a dream cast for your novels?

Actually… No. I never truly thought about it. They need to be hot and handsome, and the girls need to be real. None of those ultra thin girls who forget to eat. I like a woman with curves, and so do my boys.

Can you tell us about what you’re currently working on or any future works you have planned?

I’m working on my debut novel, Set In Flames, and I hope it’ll be only the Start of The Morning Star Vampires.

Thanks for joining us, Sam!  You can follow Sam on her journey HERE.

Leave a Reply

