Interview with the Indie Writer #6: Melaina Rayne

Please join me in welcoming author Melaina Rayne.  She is 35 and lives in New Mexico!

LZ cover - Copy (1)

Describe yourself in three sentences.

I’m kind of an introvert. Those who know me personally would label me a hermit. J It’s true, but it’s because I just have so much in my head that I want on paper so I can share it with others.

For you, what is the hardest part about writing in your genre?

Individuality. Almost everything out there has been done and redone. I have some unique ideas coming though.

What is your favorite pass time when you’re not writing?

When I just need to clear my head and relax, I usually chill with my neighbors and have some drinks.

Is writing something you consider a great passion or is it just a hobby?

Definitely a huge passion. I live in my stories as I write them. My writing style is still evolving, but my ultimate goal is for readers to feel like they are a part of the stories as they read them.

In your opinion, what is the best way to promote your work?

Facebook has been my biggest platform.

Are you an independent author or are you traditionally published?

Independent but hoping to get an agent one day and have my books published through a major publishing house.

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

I read something earlier in the year about an author who quit writing and even refused to publish her work because of online bullying. Even though her book wasn’t out yet, people were saying that she was a terrible author, and it ruined her emotionally. That’s just sad to me. If writing is your passion, don’t ever let anyone discourage you or beat you down. Not everyone will like your writing, but as long as you stay true to your vision, that’s all that matters. To hell with asshats who just want to be negative and try to make others feel miserable. Just do what you love.

How do you feel about your family and close friends reading your work?

I don’t mind. There are a couple of them that it might be awkward to talk about the books with, but hey, we’re all adults…for the most part. J

How do you overcome writer’s block?

Reading…Writer’s block for me usually happens when I’m over-thinking things. Having someone to talk things out with usually helps me move past the block. But when it doesn’t, I usually just have to take a break from writing and read a book to escape my overactive mind.

Do you get easily attached to your characters?

Yes. Very. I’m always eager to get their story done so I can share them with others, but I’m always sad when it’s over.

Do you base your characters on people you know?

Not usually, but sometimes certain characteristics make appearances. I do have a side project that some of my Facebook friends helped out with. It’s a sexual fantasy anthology. They told me their secret fantasies (some in very deep detail) and it is going to be so much fun writing them. I’ve started on a couple of them, and…yeah. Fun.

What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book started as a dream. It was so vivid and for days I couldn’t get it out of my head. My sister and my husband convinced me to write it down and it eventually just turned into this huge story. Now it’s part of a series with more than 15 stories waiting to be written.

At what age did you finally say to yourself, “This is it. I want to be a writer.”

I was 30.

How long does it typically take for you to finish writing a book?

Oh gosh. I couldn’t tell you. Every one of them is different. I have some I’ve started but only work on when the need hits me, but my first published book took me three years…ish. The second in that series was started around the same time but it took me an extra six months or so. I have yet to start a book and work nonstop on just that book though. Maybe my next one will be constant.

If you had to put the main protagonist of your book against Lord Voldemort, who would win?

I’m almost ashamed to say, I don’t know much about Voldemort. Almost. But I’d like to say he’d quiver at just the sight of the man in my current book. lol. I know I would. Just in a different way.

Do you prefer to write in a notebook or type on a computer?

Computer. I started with a notebook, but now I just use paper for notes. I have binders and binders of notes.

How many flash drives do you own?

Haha. I’ve broken too many to count. Now I use an external hard drive. And I even broke one of those. I think I have a problem.

What is something you MUST have to keep your writing mojo strong?

My husband. Enough said. Oh, and my insider. Without the two of them to talk me through my ‘stuck’ spots, I’d go insane.

If you could bring one of your characters to life, who would it be and why?

I’m gonna say Gavril. And I know most of my followers will agree on that one. Gavril is a berserker. A big yummy berserker. Just imagine Khal Drogo meets Conan the Barbarian. Obviously, Jason Momoa was the inspiration behind his character.

Do you have a dream cast for your novels?

No. Aside from Mr. Momoa, I don’t think anyone would ever live up to how I see my characters. Except for maybe David Gandy…or Nathan Kamp or Victor Webster.

Can you tell us about what you’re currently working on or any future works you have planned?

Future works? Sure. The next book I’m gonna write is #3 in the Jagara series I’m self-publishing. It’s Zavier’s story. It’s going to be heart-wrenching. His mate disappeared four years ago and he’s never gotten over it. His young daughter is what has kept him sane. I’m not gonna say much else, but I will say that he does find love again, just not where he expects.

TCO cover - Copy

You can find Melaina on AMAZON, FACEBOOK, TWITTER, GOODREADS, and her WEBSITE.

You can also read a sample chapter of Lost Zendori HERE.

Lost Zendori Teaser Image (1)

And a sample of The Cherished One HERE.

The Cherished One teaser image

Thank you so much for taking the time do to an interview with us, Melaina! I wish you the very best in the future. xx

 

Leave a Reply

