Giftapalooza 2014 FAQ for Donations

When does Giftapalooza start? Giftapalooza will open on November 14th, almost two weeks after the official date for RAoC.
When does Giftapalooza end?  Giftapalooza will end at the same time RAoC does.  We always run until the 22nd of December before we put a hold on gifting.  Amazon PRIME has been such a Godsend for getting out those last minute presents for children.   Note: I may extend the end date until January 1st so I can post thank-you pictures for you all to see as well.  Trust me when I say seeing the pictures of Christmas morning is my favorite part. 
Who is my donation going to?  It’s not a kid, right?  There has been so much confusion about this.  Please let me clear it up for you: The books, gift cards, and swag you have offered is going to go to an adult who gifts a child in need.  I promise no children will be reading erotica!
How does this work?  When I post an RAoC wishlist, people will go to them and buy gifts from those lists (toys, clothing, games, movies, etc).  They will send me a screenshot of their purchase and in return they will receive an ebook, paperback, gift card, or swag as a thank-you for helping make a difference this Christmas.
How will you determine who gets what?  Currently I am working on a point-based system.  Anyone who buys at least one gift will most definitely receive an ebook.  I’m still working out the details, but I am thinking that signed paperbacks will go to those who purchase 5 gifts or more.  The goal of Giftapalooza is to gift as many children as possible, so I don’t think this is a bad idea.  Swag, gift cards, and anything else will be in between. 
Is there anything else I can do to help? Yes!  I have a thunderclap campaign that I’m trying to reach a goal of 100 for.  If you can share this link on your page I would appreciate it SO much.  I’ll post that link at the bottom of this email.
The young reader and young writer gift basket:  You may have seen my post about this.  Every year I try to give out a gift basket for a young reader (usually two booksets of whatever is REALLY popular at the moment.  Last year we gave the Harry Potter series and Percy Jackson), and a young writer (Flashdrives, notebooks, journals, dictionary/thesaurus set, pens/pencils, etc).  I have a teespring campaign in which the proceeds will go towards these two gifts.  And yes, these do go to two children in need, usually ages 13-17. I’ll include the link to that, too if you’d like to share it.
Can I gift a child in need?  Absolutely.  You are more than welcome to purchase a gift for a child in need and you will receive a thank-you gift, too!
Do I have to do a takeover? No, you don’t have to.  I will do 100% of the work and you will get 100% of the credit for your contribution.  I’m just here to match up your donations with loving homes while checking another child off the list of needing Christmas presents.  You are more than welcome to come in and say hello though!
What if I can’t give anything more than an ebook? Trust me when I say that is completely okay.  When I first began RAoC, I had nothing more to offer than my time.  No matter how small you think your contribution is, it’s going to make a big difference for a child out there.  Whether you just share our event link, the teespring campaign, the thunderclap, or donate an ebook…you are doing a wonderful thing and I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Leave a Reply

