It just goes to show you never know who’s following your journey.

Oh man, oh man.  Where do I even begin with this post?

My day started like normal, as usual.  I got up, fought with a child to awaken so she would make it to school on time, had a huge cup of coffee, drove kiddos to school, came home, and prepared myself for another day of writing procrastination and tackling Giftapalooza.

But then it changed.

I got an email from authorgraph saying someone was waiting for my signature for their ebook of Blood Betrayal- Awesome!  I haven’t had one of those in a while so I eagerly went to take a gander on my sister-in-law’s kindle so I could properly sign it.

And that’s when I received the message that has changed my life.

“My name is [removed for privacy]. I’m from Harlan County, Kentucky and I’m pursuing the dream of becoming a writer. I ran across your books and read about you. You, along with your books, are just amazing. It’d be an honor to get published like you, and it would make my day. If you ever get the time, could you message me at [removed for privacy]? I’d love to ask you some questions about your process. Thank you so much and I hope to receive an autographed book.”

[Mind you, this is on authorgraph so I don’t believe she was asking for a physical book. Just clearing that up.]

^Basically how I felt after reading it.

Sometimes I don’t think we stop to realize who may be watching as we grow and learn in this particular industry.  Sometimes I stumble.  Sometimes I fall and faceplant super hard (and that hurts).  Sometimes I feel like I’m on cloud nine and it takes me a minute to put my feet on the ground again.

And sometimes….these little things…these little moments slip up on me and put me right back in my place.

This is the best message I have ever received and I never thought I’d get a message like it.  This is someone, from my state, who discovered me and seeks my advice on something I really, really love.

I just don’t have any words to describe it.  I’m happy.  I’m elated.  I’m honored.

It just goes to show you never know who’s following your journey and I once again put emphasis on the professionalism we should always display when interacting with the public.  You may think only your family and friends pay attention to what you’re doing, but let this post say otherwise.

I hope you get a message like this one day, too.

When you do? Message me so we can sob happily together. x

Leave a Reply

