Ridener Ramblings: Call me superstitious, but….

Author takeovers of any kind are not meant for me.

No, I’m not crazy.  I will swear by this.  I have proof!

I am so tired right now and I plan to fall asleep in minutes, but I needed to take a moment just to express my bafflement about this particular situation.  Author takeovers are a great way to promote yourself and support your friends, especially during release events…

But this is an omen for me. Bad luck. SUCH bad luck!

Just tonight I was meant to make an appearance for an author I was so incredibly honored to hang out with.  The fact she even wanted me to be there had me on cloud nine.  I love love love her and I was excited to partake, BUT….

My sister-in-law got hurt.  A nasty cut on the leg that had to be stitched up and she’ll be super sore tomorrow for sure.  Thankfully one of my wonderful street team members was able to pop in for me and she did an excellent job.

Takeovers hate me.  The indie gods don’t like it and here is more proof.

My first ever author event was back in February when I released The Truth about Kadenburg.  It was the first time I ever tried hosting anything that had to do with me and I was nervous as all get out.  However, only about an hour or so in….

My nephew ran his dirt bike into a moving car in the street.

That was the most terrifying experience of my life and I had the worst panic attack a person could ever experience.  My chest ached for a week after that.

He was okay, of course, but at the time we didn’t know that.  It was just terrible….terrible, terrible.  Luckily, a few friends took over the event until I was calm enough to return. (Was not calm.  Pretended, but totally NOT calm.)

So I have determined that author takeovers don’t like me and I shouldn’t volunteer to participate anymore because I’m only asking for someone I care about to get hurt.

No. Bueno.

Perhaps these are only the thoughts of a seriously tired writer, but I think I’m going to steer clear of takeovers for a while.  I’ll still happily donate ebooks and bookmarks for giveaways and prizes, but I really think I need to test this theory out.

Leave it to me. -sigh-

Leave a Reply

