Ridener Reviews: Resilient Heart by Annabeth Albert

5 out of 5 stars.

Get your copy HERE

Once again I made the mistake of reading Annabeth’s work as something to fall asleep to. I don’t do it because I think it’ll bore me, I do it because her writing relaxes me..but the issue is I can’t stop reading until I reach THE END. Her work is that addictive for me. She won me over with Winning Bracket and I seriously enjoyed Resilient Heart. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, this woman’s writing is poetic. Her words just flow together and she has a way with wording things.

She’ll make you blush. She’ll make you laugh. She’ll make you feel butterflies. I believe she’s a very interactive author when she tells stories. She gets you involved in the book. I enjoyed Xander and Mackey, best-friends-with-benefits turned so much more.

I won’t give away the story, but it basically involves a man who’s been broken in more ways than one. He feels guilty and angry. His best friend, Mackey, feels guilty, too, but not for the reasons Xander thinks.

As someone who has known people suffering from physical and mental wounds from war, I appreciated this love story. I wish every soldier who came back had someone who loved them as much as Mackey loves Xander. It’s a truly touching tale and I’d recommend it to others.

I’m not going to dock stars off this because I adore this author’s work and it’s a darn good book, but one thing I did notice is a very common theme of moms (which maybe she just loves her mom and loves having gay men who have supportive moms). I just felt a lot of similarities of these characters with Edwin and Ollie from Winning Bracket. Like..you could take those two and place them in the military and tada! But it was still an amazing story and I really, really enjoyed it a lot. Annabeth has true talent and she’s going to go far. Keep writing magical stories!

Oh, and I feel it’s amusing and important to make note that when I read a particular part about how Xander is capable of making Mackey crumble–I was listening to All of Me and it said “You’re my downfall” at the very same time. Just funny. I’m going to shut up now.

Leave a Reply

