The honest truth about what drives me crazy.

I honestly couldn’t think of a better title for this blog post, so I’m just putting it as bluntly as I know how.

This post is talking about what drives me crazy, bonkers, absolutely mad.

It’s not the actual writing process.  It isn’t even editing (which will do a number on anybody.)

Actually….

It’s having so many voices in my head and all of them trying to talk at once.

I can go weeks, or months, without my characters saying a word.  And then one day they all decide to chime in.

“ME FIRST!”

“NO! ME ME ME!”

“I GOT HERE BEFORE YOU.”

“SHUT UP. IT’S MY TURN.”

“BUT MY BOOK IS ALMOST FINISHED. GO AWAY.”

“BACK OF THE LINE, YOU IDIOT.”

“SHE LOVES ME MOST!”

Yeah….this is my life.  It happens about three times a year and this is one of those times.

Yes. It makes me feel crazy.

People ask me all the time when my next book is coming out and that’s never an easy answer.  I really do try to work on this or that, but then something else comes along and absolutely will not shut up until I open a word document to write what they want to say.

Sometimes it leads to a dead end, but sometimes it spawns an entirely new novel that I just have to finish…..because they demand it.

I’m the type of writer who has to work on multiple projects at once.  If I get stuck on one thing, I’ll always have something else to bounce to.  This helps me evade writer’s block, but it doesn’t always work. >.<

Because then I have fifty people coming at me at once…wanting me to write about them.

Like now.

Sure, I’d love to finish up the Kadenburg Series, or finish my last vampire novel so the world can have it….but it’s really not that easy.  Not for me.  I don’t think I’m alone in that either.

I just have to wait patiently for one voice to become distinctive.  One storyline to rule them all. But until that happens I’ll continue bouncing back and forth in a pinball machine of characters and their endless possibilities.

They’re demanding little buggers.

When will my next book be out?

Leave a Reply

