Everybody starts somewhere.

I know what you’re thinking.

“What on earth did we do to deserve two blog posts in one week?”

Okay, so that’s not what you’re really thinking, but I’m giving you another blog post anyway.

I remember a time when I was just sitting in my bedroom, browsing the inter webs and suddenly stumbling across a website about self-publishing.  I was so excited when I realized someone would give me the opportunity to share my work with the world and maybe make a little money while doing so. (It’s NOT about the money for me, but this IS my career.  The income is nice. <3)

During the first couple of years after publishing my first books I realized I had no idea how to network or who to connect with.  I was seriously blessed when a reader contacted me and began putting me in touch with other authors and readers.  It’s literally been a roller coaster since that fateful conversation took place. ❤ Thank you, Mrs. Freese.  You’re amazing. 😉

I see a lot of indie authors who have been around for a long time, but they haven’t reached over 100 likes on their page.  It makes me wonder if they are too shy to contact others, or just don’t know how.

Thus, bringing us to the reason for this blog post tonight.

We all started somewhere, didn’t we?  Some of us aren’t as fortunate as others to have contacts at the ready.  There are those of us who don’t have a steady following when we dive into the author world, and it can feel a little lonely.  It can feel a little discouraging.

If you’re an author and you’re reading this blog post, let me ask you something.

When’s the last time you randomly shared a lesser-known indie’s page, or a link from their page, just because?

I’m not saying you /have/ to share every single Dick and Jane’s page with your readers, but if you happen to stumble across a new author’s page and something on there piques your interest, why not?

A lot of people have this ‘it’s every man for himself’ attitude when it comes to the indie community, but I don’t believe that for a second.  There are way more readers in the world than authors.  They are always looking for new books to read, new worlds to get lost in.  Help them do that by suggesting someone new every once in a while.

Bloggers–same to you.  If you come across a lesser-known indie and one of their teasers makes your heart race, share it with your fans!

Heaven knows I would have appreciated that little gesture when I was just starting out.

There was so much more I planned to say, but this blasted headache won’t let up.

“Be careful who you step on on your way up the ladder of success.  You’ll have to see them again on your way down.”

About the post

Indie Author

Leave a Reply

