180 Days and other #transromance stories

Forgive me, readers for I have sinned.  It has been 3 months since my last blog update.

I’m so terrible at blogging.

Anyway, so over the weekend I released my first ever transgender romance story, 180 Days, and I have to tell you I was terrified.  Being from a small southern town, I have always been frightened of writing what I truly want to write–and this does vary.  I can write on bear-shifters one day and switch over to ‘human’ stories the next day.  I really never know what my brain is going to do, but that is neither here or there.

Much like my M/M romance novel Chartreuse, I contemplated long and hard if I should go through with the idea so deep in my heart.  It was a fire that burned brighter and hotter than most story ideas I get.  I knew I had to finish it.

Sharing it with the world was another lengthy decision.  People are so quick to judge, yes–they still do that in the 21st century, and there are still many people out there who won’t share such stories because of their ‘beliefs’.  I’m okay with that.  Truly, I am.  I even lost a few likes after posting the buy-link for it, and again, I’m okay with that.

However, what bothered me is when I went onto Twitter and started looking up the simple hashtag “transromance”.  Hardly any exist at all!

Is it because these writers are also afraid of being judged?  Of being ridiculed?  Or perhaps they are just too shy to post them on social media?

I have decided to remedy that and I’ve looked up all the transromance stories I can.  No, these are not the ‘gender bender’ stories you can find on Amazon.  Yes, those are all fine and dandy, but they are also very sci-fi with men magically becoming women and vice versa.  They do not show the struggles and discrimination our fellow human beings face.

They’re not what really happens.

Now I’m not saying my book is 100% accurate.  I did A LOT of research. I asked A LOT of questions. The trans community was very hesitant about opening up to me and can you blame them?

41 percent of trans people attempt suicide.

Do you see that number? Does it make you feel sick to your stomach?  It should.

I spoke to a very kind and open-minded transman today and I enjoyed our conversation immensely.  He’s going to help me with the next book in my series.  The secondary character I’m bumping up to main character for this one (yep, that still happens!) is a transman.

His quote is honestly the only quote I need.

“Education combats ignorance.”

That is exactly what I plan to do.  I am an ally for the LGBT community and have been for a long time.  I believe that love is love and we all deserve to be happy.

I just wish everyone felt that way.

So without further adieu, here is my list of #transromance stories for you to enjoy.

***PLEASE NOTE: I have not read the following stories and cannot give an honest review.  The only one I am knowledgable of is 180 Days, for obvious reasons.***

61IOVPeiLQL._SX420_BO1,204,203,200_

Love Over Lamb: The Unconditional Love Series

by J.M. Steger

A story of a hope, fear, anxiety, and unconditional love. Join Milo in this short-story as he hopes to find someone who will love him without conditions and accept him as he is. 
Milo is a transgender man in search of acceptance not only with his parents who have all but disowned him but from his new love interest Chance. However, Chance doesn’t know that Milo is transgender – can Chance accept Milo and love him without conditions?

His Fair Lady (Exception to the Rule Book 2)

by Kimberly Gardner

Related Title: Almost Heaven 

Mark Talleo is something of a dog with the ladies. Any girl, anytime, anywhere is his motto until he meets Josie Frazier. The long lean redhead not only shares his love of musical theatre, but her smoky sexy voice and infectious laugh drive Mark wild and haunt his every step. Equally fascinating is his sense that she has a secret, one he is determined to uncover on his way to becoming her leading man. 

Josie does have a secret, one she guards with her whole self. Although she has always known she was female, her name used to be Joey and she’s still biologically male. As much as she yearns for love and acceptance, her fear of rejection is just as strong. 

Mark’s need to know the truth is matched only by Josie’s need to hide it. But when malicious gossip reveals her deepest secret the price of honesty may turn out to be too high to pay. But if each can accept that the woman he wants is the woman she is then at last Mark may find His Fair Lady.

Illusions In The Mist

by D.T. Peterson

Dominique was the girl of Zack’s dreams, she was everything he had ever hoped for and desired. 
Little did he realize everything was not always as it seemed, shrouded in the mist of uncertainty and a future he couldn’t comprehend. 
“Just remember,” she uttered, as they writhed in undulating, lust craved ecstasy, “there is no going back, some things can never be undone.” 
Had he only comprehended the finality of those words…

Staying Her: A Transgender Romance

by Jace

‘True love smoulders, not burns,’ John had always thought. That is, until he meets Kirsty, a gorgeous, enigmatic woman with emerald hair. There’s only one problem: Kirsty is actually a man – a man who happens to spend every waking second of his time as a girl – but a man no less. Well, that and the fact that John is in a relationship, one that he doesn’t plan on getting out of anytime soon. 

The Definition of Normal

by ES Carpenter

A tender love story of two best friends who grow up living next door to each other since they were five. One matures to become the outward definition of normal, and one struggles but falls short. Together they start a journey of discovery and uncover a meaning far greater than the socially popular interpretation, and through their mutual caring, both come to understand the deeper conflicts facing those who fall short of accepted norms. This is the story of their life together as they try to fit a definition that eludes more than our society acknowledges. How their friendship turns into a love that ends up defining their lives. A story about what unconditional love and acceptance truly mean as they spend the rest of their lives trying together to fit the definition of normal. 
Adult version. Contains scenes of intimacy

180 Days

by T.E. Ridener

Lydia McIntosh left her old life behind when she said goodbye to Prairie Town, North Carolina and started over halfway across the country with her beloved Gran; away from her family, away from everyone who knew the person she once was, and from the identity she never quite wanted in the first place. When her grandmother passes away, she returns home and while she only intends to stay for the funeral, her grandmother has other plans, from the grave. Her will states that Lydia must remain in Prairie Town for six months in order to give her family and her old town a chance to get to know the new her, the real her. 

Lydia has had years to adjust to long hair, summer dresses, and nail polish, but she understands her family will need time to get reacquainted with a daughter they’ve never known and a sister they’ve missed terribly. Anticipating the worst, as she always has, Lydia’s feelings about her old town begin to change when she meets her brother’s best friend, Callum. Callum is kind and more accepting than she could have ever imagined and she’s falling for him. 

When her 180 days are over, will she be able to say goodbye to the family she’s missed so much? Will she survive her mother’s endless intolerance? Can she really leave the man who acknowledges her past and still wants her? 

A NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: This is a story about a transgender girl and her journey to acceptance and love when she returns to her hometown. Within the pages of this book you will be introduced to characters who color outside the lines and that’s just how they like it. I implore you to give them a chance because we are all beautiful and unique in our own ways, and we all deserve love and happiness.

Did I miss one that needs to be added? Sound off in the comments and I’ll put it on the list!

Visit T.E. Ridener on her author page.

Check out T.E. Ridener’s books.

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Thanks for the shout out! I hope you get a chance to read Love Over Lamb, the second book will be out in 2 weeks!

  2. Oh there is an amazing transgender romance out there! It’s called The Definition of Normal by E S Carpenter. http://www.thedefinitionofnormal.com
    The reviews are really strong: http://www.amazon.com/Definition-Normal-E-S-Carpenter-ebook/dp/B00WOG0M1K/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1430294828&sr=1-1&keywords=the+definition+of+normal#customerReviews

    I hope you’ll take a look. You can take a peek inside at the book page on Amazon. Plus the blog on the website has some nice excerpts. Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

