Author page VS. Personal page

Hullo!  It’s me again.  I’m seriously impressing myself with how many blog posts I’ve already done in 2016.  If I keep this up I’ll have 2015 beat in no time.

Okay, so down to business before I forget what I wanted to say.

This is actually a blog post I’ve been meaning to do for a long time and be warned: I’m passionate enough tonight to do it.

And by passionate I mean I’m suddenly very angry about something that happened months ago and it’s woken the beast once more.

RAWR!

Okay, so maybe that wasn’t so serious, but the feelings are very serious.  Anyhow.

So if you’re an author you’ve probably got an author page and it’s all pretty and what have you, but this means you’ve also got a personal account.  Or maybe two.  Some people have two.

Why? Because they want one for their friends and another for their fans.  Some people choose to keep the book world separate from their personal life, but I am not one of those people.  I honestly love posting about my books/other books on my personal account because that makes up about 95% of who I am.  I cannot exist without books and writing, so there you have it.  I’ve got only one Facebook account and attached to it is my author page.

There is this thing called professionalism and trust me, I’m very enthusiastic about keeping up my professional appearance.  Being an author means that I have to represent myself as any business lady would.  Writing is and can be a business.  Some people tend to forget this.

Either way, there is an etiquette to this business and the last thing people want to see on your author page is all the ugliness we can sometimes release when we’re having a bad day.  They don’t deserve that.  They come to your page to learn about your books and about you.  If they wanted to see all the cursing and anger, they could just as easily watch TV.  And let’s be honest, they’ve got enough of that going in their own life, they don’t need to visit your page and have it shoved in their face.

You will lose your followers.  Don’t do that.

Anyway, back on track here…

Back to bad days and venting, hm?

Say, for instance, another author did something really downright dirty to you.  It’s the meanest of the mean, the most awful thing ever, but you don’t want to run people off by posting a huge rant on your author page, right?

EXACTLY.  You don’t want to. Not now. Not ever. (Even though I strongly recommend against posting names on your personal account, too.  Please have some respect!)

Even if it involves you, professionally, you have to count to ten and think things through.  Yes, things have happened where I’ve felt the need to defend myself and I feel all people have that right, but it’s also hard.

It’s very, very hard.

So while I’m on my author page, I’m pretty much always like this:

cmc20skipping

But on my personal account you get me in my rawest form.  You get all the feelings, fears, dreams, and hopes.  You get the girl who can be a nut sometimes.  You get the girl who gets angry sometimes.  You get all of me. Not just the super friendly business me, or the bookworm, or the movie nerd – You get all of it, and usually uncensored.

So sometimes my personal account may be something like this:

6b960b746bc34bcc3d9fe847ed7dd9d2

Or this:

thatssotrue_18919_1358395191

And especially this:

tumblr_me28q2wlhr1ra58rx

Because believe it or not: I’m human.

I’m honestly not sure what some people expect when they befriend an author on their personal account.  I personally *love* being friends with the people who read my books. Sometimes they get insight to my projects before they’re mentioned on my author page and that’s pretty cool, right?

I’ve always thought so.

But what does bother me is when someone befriends an author and then makes a comment about how they should act more professional on their own personal account.

Really?

That’s like insisting someone keep on their uniform even after they clock out from work.

It’s not right.  It’s not fair.  I think that if you’re going to befriend an author on their personal Facebook account, you shouldn’t expect them to be okay or all smiles 100% of the time.  You should just expect them to be human.

Drat, this post isn’t making as much sense as I wanted it to, but hopefully it makes a little sense.

Basically what I’m saying is authors are people, too. Bloggers are people, too.

It’s kinda like when you realize that pretty 1st grade teacher you had was quite capable of flatulence, too.  Was I the only one who was shocked at that?  Or when you see them out shopping and you’re like, “Well, that’s not right.  They’re supposed to be at school!”

Any real author will strive to keep their author page enlightening and entertaining for those who love to read their books, but they deserve to kick back and relax on their personal accounts.

If you find yourself not enjoying being an author’s friend very much once you send that request or accept it, or maybe they just become a little too ‘real’ for you, there’s always the ‘unfollow’ or ‘unfriend’ button. 😉

What was the point of this post?

Oh yeah.  Authors are human beings, too. *Gasp* NOT robots as once believed, I swear.

Well…maybe some of us are robots.  It’s hard to tell with how realistic they make the skin these days.

Oh, and professionalism.  Always be professional on your author page because that is the name people are going to remember you by.

Don’t be remembered as the author who [insert humiliating and unnecessary public incident that could have been avoided here].

About the post

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

