I Think I Can – I KNOW I Can

Sigh.

I did it again.  It’s been two months since my last blog update and I am very sorry for that.  Now that vacation is out of the way and we’re only two days away from the release of THE LOST DAYS (YAY!), hopefully I can remember to post more frequently.

(Don’t count on it.)

All right, so the point of this evening’s post is to talk to you all about self-doubt.  It can be such a sneaky, bothersome little devil.  We’ve all been there, we’ve all thought it.  There’s nothing worse than opening up a word document and staring at what you’ve written and thinking to yourself, “Jesus, I suck at this.  What the heck am I doing?”

Even the best of the best have their moments and sometimes it’s hard to get away from that frame of mind, but you can do it.  You have to.

If you’re like me, writing is in your blood.  It is your one true calling in life and you can’t live without it.  A world without writing, to me, is like always having an itch I can’t scratch.

It would drive me insane.

Self-doubt can happen for a number of reasons.  Maybe you got a bad review and the air was knocked from your lungs – it happens.  I’ve been called ‘mediocre’.  I’ve had people say I’m crazy for thinking my work is ‘good’ and that I’ve convinced myself readers actually ‘enjoy’ them.

Well, all I know to say to that is the reviews speak for themselves, no?

Listen, kiddos.  Not everyone is going to like what you write.  There’s not a book in existence that has everybody’s approval.  Even the greatest of the great have their critics, so try not to take it to heart.  I know that’s easier said than done because your books are your babies; you’ve put endless hours into them.  Blood, sweat, tears, and sacrifices have been made just so you could hit that publish button.  The last thing you want is for someone to come stomping into the review section to tell everybody how much they hate it.

But it’s going to happen and you need to be prepared for that.

You also have to be prepared to make enemies.

This is the not-so-fun part of life.  It isn’t just in the indie world; it is everywhere in which human life exists.  There will be people who don’t like you for a variety of reasons.  Some of them will dislike you because of mistakes, or stupid arguments that happened.  Or maybe some of them will seek a vendetta simply because you rank higher than them – yes, it can be as petty as that.

I sincerely hope you never have to experience this.  Personally, I try to stay in a protected bubble away from drama and those who live for it, but it somehow always gnaws its way in and ta-da, there I am, faced with another conflict I didn’t want.  Boo.

What was I saying?  Oh.  Right. Self-doubt.

Enemies will cause that.  Bad reviews will cause that.  Even your peers will cause that with comments they think are otherwise harmless.

“But writing isn’t a real job.”

“How much do you make from writing?”

“Has your book been picked up by a publisher?” (No.)  “Well, why not?”

They won’t think twice about their questions, but you will.  And I know it can kill a person on the inside.  People who haven’t taken the plunge into this whole indie author thing cannot possibly understand why we do it, and you know…it’s really not their business anyway.

But of all these things I’ve listed, none of them will cause you to doubt yourself more than….

Yourself.

You will always be your biggest critic.  No one will ever be harder on you than you.

Remember to be kind.  Remember to be positive.

Remember to believe in yourself like Jason Isaacs believed in fairies. ❤

If you believe in yourself and what you’re writing, others will be able to tell.

I wanted to say something a little inspirational, but I’ve got nothing.  It’s almost ten o’clock and apparently I’m elderly.

Sigh.

Go out there and write those books, my friends.  Have faith, trust, and a lot of coffee because you’re going to need it.

xx

T.E.

tldpromo111

Lookie at this here snazzy writer-inspired t-shirt for the 4th of July.

pwriter

Leave a Reply

