Happy 2018, ya weirdos

So…it’s 2018 and most of you probably think I am dead, or something.  I know it’s been a while since I’ve actually been on my author page, and this thing? Ha! We’re lucky I make 5 blog posts a year, right? Right.

But I am, in fact, alive.  I’m doing well. The past month has been this amazing whirlwind that I can’t even begin to describe.  It’s the usual girl-meets-boy scenario, and let me tell you: It’s been pretty awesome.

So, that’s why you haven’t heard from me.  I’m doing this thing known as “having a life”, and also “work”, and also everything else in between.

2017 was all right. It had its ups and downs, as expected.  I can’t tell you which of those there were more of, but the important thing is, I survived.  If you’re reading this, it means you did, too.  And for that, my darling, I am grateful.

2017 didn’t see many books from me, I admit.  But I did manage to get a few awesome audiobooks out there (thank you, Molly!), and I can only hope to have more in the future.

I did get another Prairie Town book out there (YAY!).

…..Or maybe two? Did I do two?  Gosh, it’s bad I can’t even remember.  Or perhaps I am just getting old and senile.

2017 was a year of lessons.  It taught me many things, and I am certain I still have tons to learn in the coming year as well.

I learned, as I do every year, that not everyone is my friend.  Not everyone has my best interests at heart.  For every person who DOES love you, there is someone out there who only wants to see you crash and burn.  (You think I would have learnt this in 2014, but surprise.)

I learned to stop biting off more than I can chew.  Yes, the girl who always does too much, finally reached her limit.  In the future, I will definitely take a minute to think before saying, “yes” automatically.  I’ve done that too much in the past.  It’s not good for me, mentally, emotionally, or physically.  I have to think about me from time-to-time.  It’s okay to do that, folks.

I lost friends, gained friends, and grew closer to a handful of people I now consider to be family.

I watched the greatest loves of my life grow more and more with each passing day, and they show no signs of slowing down any time soon. (Please, Double Js, take it easy on me!)

I had many epiphanies, which I couldn’t even begin to share with you.  But I do know that everything is coming to that point.  You know–THAT POINT–in which life changes and sets course for a new beginning.

I am so ready for it.

There were many laughs in 2017, and many tears.  I got to see my baby cousin get married to the love of her life, and I mourned the loss of several loved ones.

I noticed my hands are wrinkling.  There’s a little more grey in my hair.  I changed my relationship status from single to in a relationship. ❤

I’ve been shown what it is to care about someone, and to be cared about in return.

I got my first New Years kiss. ❤

My books have suffered, I admit. But I am patiently waiting for my muse to return from whatever vacation she went on. (Next time, take me with you. Duh.)

For 2018, I’d like to experience more of everything.  I want to try new things, even if I may not like them.  Like Japanese food, for instance.

I want to travel somewhere I’ve never been.

I want to be more courageous, and I want my spine to be a little sturdier this year, metaphorically speaking.

I want to be as kind as I can, and maybe, it’ll make a difference for somebody.

I’d love to be more successful, even if only in this game called life.

I want to see everybody happy.  If I can help make that happiness happen, you best believe I’m already down for it.

I want to go to the movie theater more often.  I want to take more pictures, make more memories.

And like all of you, I just want to be the best version of me possible.

So here we are, 2018. I’m calling you out already. You WILL be my year.  You WILL be when all the amazing stuff happens.  You’re going to rock, because I refuse to accept anything less.

Live, darlings. Laugh. Don’t take things too seriously.  Fight for what you want.  Believe in yourselves.

As always, make it count.

Love from,

Tonya

 

 

 

Leave a comment